viola and piano (1992)

Betty Hauck, viola; Robbie Merfeld, piano
Performance at Apple Hill Center for Chamber Music

duration: 10′

program note

Chronicle was written during fall and winter of 1992 for violist Karen Dreyfus, who premiered it at the Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C. in February 1993. It is essentially an emotional narrative for the viola, with the piano offering a changing landscape over which the story unfolds.