Wind Symphony (2014)

premiere performance: March 6, 2015, Kasser Theater, Montclair State University
Montclair State University Wind Symphony, Dr. Thomas McCauley, conductor

duration: 17:30

In eight movements played without pause:
Steadfast–Aeolus–First Air–Cumulus–Aeolus again–
Second Air–Zephr–Zeppelin

piccolo, 4 flutes, 2 oboes, many Bb clarinets (4 parts), 2 bass clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 alto saxophones, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone
4 horns, 4 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, euphoniums (at least 2), tubas (at least 2)
5 percussionists:
percussion 1: vibraphone, bicycle bell, desk bell, ratchett, cicadas, metal bucket with ball
bearings, marimba
percussion 2: 2 woodblocks (high and low), large cymbal (played upside down on timpani),
cicadas, 2 pietins, crotales, ratchett
percussion 3: washboard, cicadas, crotales, bass drum
percussion 4: snare drum, cicadas, 1 pie tin
percussion 5: 3 toms, bass drum, cicadas, high marimba (or xylophone)
The ratchett, bass drum, and crotales can be shared.
*(The cicadas are whirling Japanese toys, and will be supplied by the composer.)

program note
Zeppelin (2014) was written for the MSU Wind Symphony during my tenure as Composer-in-Residence at Montclair State University. Why did I write a piece called Zeppelin? My artist husband is obsessed by them, and I’m surrounded by his model zeppelins and images of zeppelins. Like Zeppelins, wind symphonies are large and full of air, and both heavy and buoyant. They can clank, and they can float. The piece captures the feeling of riding in a Zeppelin, sometimes from the point of view of the Zeppelin itself.